A thought on the fundamentalist debate

Kevin Bauder is right. After learning of Danny Sweatt’s comments on the direction of fundamentalism, my emotions were a mixed bag of disbelief, frustration, and sadness. I wanted nothing to do with it. And why I certainly appreciate Dr. Bauder’s essay in response to Pastor Sweatt as well as John Piper’s article commending Dr. Bauder, I still have one question that has been lingering within my consciousness for some time. Is it really necessary to be labeled a fundamentalist? Or even a Calvinist or an Arminian for that matter? For those of you that know me, you may think that I am speaking out of both sides of my mouth, especially in regard to Reformed theology. Yes, I have to admit that I’m a bit more sympathetic to using the terms “Calvinist” or “Reformed” because they usually designate specific doctrinal positions, while within “fundamentalism” (and I put the term in quotes intentionally), there is an unbelievably wide range of contrasting theology and philosophy, which sadly even involves contrasts of fundamental doctrine concerning the gospel. So while I applaud Dr. Bauder and am convinced of the principles inherent to historic fundamentalism (contending for the faith once for all delivered to the saints and ministry unity only with those that do the same), I wonder if it is helping his position to cling to the “fundamentalist” label and to urge young men to do so as well. Fundamentalism has come to mean so many different things to so many different people, and the artificial walls constructed by this labeled movement often prohibit genuine unity in the gospel with brothers not within those same walls. I’m persuaded from the Scripture that no movement, man, or label should drive my faith and practice or define my identity. Are labels at times necessary for distinction and clarity? Yes. But when our focus on them distracts us from what is Biblically essential, I’m convinced that we are not advancing the kingdom, promoting the gospel, or drawing people’s attention to King Jesus and his cross.

I appeal to you, brothers, by the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree, and that there be no divisions among you, but that you be united in the same mind and the same judgment. 11 For it has been reported to me by Chloe’s people that there is quarreling among you, my brothers. 12 What I mean is that each one of you says, “I follow Paul,” or “I follow Apollos,” or “I follow Cephas,” or “I follow Christ.” 13 Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Or were you baptized in the name of Paul? 14 I thank God that I baptized none of you except Crispus and Gaius, 15 so that no one may say that you were baptized in my name. 16 (I did baptize also the household of Stephanas. Beyond that, I do not know whether I baptized anyone else.) 17 For Christ did not send me to baptize but to preach the gospel, and not with words of eloquent wisdom, lest the cross of Christ be emptied of its power.  18 For the word of the cross is folly to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.   I Corinthians 1:10-18

8 thoughts on “A thought on the fundamentalist debate

  1. Matt LaCava says:

    good thoughts, man.

  2. Eric Sipe says:

    Jon, I understand what you are ‘musing’ about. Many have had those same thoughts. I think the thing I always go back to the glory of God. I want to be a part of what God is doing. God has chosen to use many different people in many different realms to do his great Kingdom work. By His great mercy, He did place you in the realm of Fundamentalism. This is the providence of God. Can we ignore that? I don’t think we should ever ignore God’s providence and I am not suggesting that you are. I am just saying that since God has placed you in a certain realm, don’t be quick to eject that from your thinking. When you see a life unfold (look at Joseph), God’s providence plays such an important role. I am always amazed that people who pursue Reformed theology seem to want to ignore God’s sovereignty of their past.
    Everyone has their glitches and pride seems to always invade every person, denomination, and movement. It is our privilege to live out Christ’s righteousness. I think if we would humbly submit ourselves to the glorious work of God, much of this would take care of itself.
    All that to say this: don’t spend too much time mulling over these things, chewing on these things, and ruminating. This will get you sidetracked from the main thing–loving Christ and living for Him. Chart your course in that direction, and you will be fundamental in the true sense of the word; you will be Gospel oriented, and your life will smell of Christ. God will be glorified and your growth will appear before all.
    Just my musings. Thanks for listening. Good thing we have a Redeemer! Check out my blog for an article on Changing Times and the Glory of God – graceisflowing@wordpress.com

  3. Jon Deedrick says:

    Eric,

    Thanks for the reply. These are wise words. You make a great point regarding guys who talk much about God’s sovereignty but whose attitude portrays disdain for those that God has placed in their path to mentor and lead them. I hope the tone of my post did not communicate ingratitude for what God has done in my life through men and ministries within fundamentalism or a discounting of what God is doing through these ministries. Certainly, I hope to maintain the relationships that God has given me with these folks!
    Also, I loved this sentence:

    All that to say this: don’t spend too much time mulling over these things, chewing on these things, and ruminating. This will get you sidetracked from the main thing–loving Christ and living for Him. Chart your course in that direction, and you will be fundamental in the true sense of the word; you will be Gospel oriented, and your life will smell of Christ. God will be glorified and your growth will appear before all.

    May God give me grace to do this!

  4. Chris Lynch says:

    Thank you, John and Pastor Sipe, for your reminders. I have been similarly burdened since graduation by what I see among my peers and even by the tendencies of my own heart. It is so easy to cling to one system or find fault in another and allow that tendency to distract us from our purpose and the truth of Scripture. So many young men preparing for ministry are wholeheartedly “hanging their hats” on this system or on that man’s teaching. As a result, the truth of the Word takes a back seat to what we like or what theological fad is currently “in.” I Cor. 1 speaks right to this point. Labels and systems are so secondary in light of the Truth, yet so often they become the main thing. Paul pleads for BALANCE- the balance only to be found in the Word of God and by taking its seeming difficulties and tensions of Scripture (ex: sovereignty of God vs. free will, etc…) as truth by faith. God’s truth is infinite, and my mind is finite, so why on earth would I claim to have “figured God out” by following wholeheartedly after this system or that man’s teaching? Words of man’s wisdom (without the balance of the truth of scripture) do absolutely nothing other than emptying the cross of its power through division (verse 17). I pray that we, as young men called to ministry, would refrain from having to find a label or system for ourselves instead of striving for biblical BALANCE. I pray that we would not allow bitterness (from our upbringing or training, see Pastor Sipe’s point) or pride in our interpretative “prowess” to win the day in our hearts as we prepare for service. I pray that we would have the maturity to take the good and biblical from a movement or system and leave the divisive and unbalanced behind. I pray that we would focus on our responsibility to contend for the faith itself instead of contending for our preferred system (this is happening on both sides of the argument). And I pray that God would give us the grace to live as it becomes the Gospel.

  5. Chris Lynch says:

    Oops, make that Jon, not John. Sorry John…er, Jon…

  6. Rich Penix says:

    Jon,
    Thanks for your post. Reading Pastor Sipe’s reply was an encouraging reminder to keep the glory of God and the gospel central. The quote you extracted from his response is worth hanging on to.

    Rich

  7. Lucas Vanderwarker says:

    I’m glad to see I’m not the only one having these thoughts. I think Pastor Sipe and Chris have pinpointed the one thing that my pastor, who I appreciate so much, has been graciously and compassionately hammering home to me: BALANCE. Thanks for the encouraging words guys!

Leave a comment